“It was a great honour to be the first winner of the Award."
Roy Williams, winner 1997 and 2010
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation
Audience Award 2016

Audience Award 2016

This year’s winner is May Sumbwanyambe for his play After Independence.  He was presented with his award by Martina Laird.


The Alfred Fagon Audience Award recognizes and celebrates the depth of talented Black British playwrights of Caribbean and African descent writing in Britain today.

This year the top play voted for by the public in the online poll will win the award.

Plays receiving a professional production between 1st September 2015 and 31st August 2016 with a minimum of five performances is eligible for the Award.

The list of plays will be published on the AFA website and online public voting will take place between 1st September 2016 and 16th October 2016.

The award will be presented to the winning writer at the Alfred Fagon Awards on Wednesday 23rd November 2016.

Voting has now closed but you can still read about this year’s nominations:
After Independence by May Sumbwanyambe
Cuttin’ It by Charlene James
i know all the secrets in my world by Natalie Ibu
Nine Lives by Zodwa Nyoni
Red Snapper by Liz Mytton
She Called Me Mother by Michelle Inniss
Soul by Roy Williams
The Crows Plucked Your Sinews by Hassan Mahamdallie