“The Alfred Fagon Award is unique."
Michael Abbensetts, winner 2004
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation

Audience Award 2017

This year’s winner is Akpore Uzoh for his play ADITL ‘A Day in the Life’.  He was presented with his award by Susan Wokoma.

(photo credit: Richard H. Smith)

The Alfred Fagon Audience Award recognizes and celebrates the depth of talented Black British playwrights of Caribbean and African descent writing in Britain today.

This year the top play voted for by the public in our online poll will win the award.

Plays receiving a professional production between 1st September 2016 and 31st August 2017 with a minimum of five days of performances is eligible for the Award.

The award will be presented to the winning writer at the Alfred Fagon Awards on Friday 8th December 2017.

#Hashtag Lightie
ADITL ‘A Day in the Life’
Assata Taught Me
Barber Shop Chronicles
Bullet Hole
Chigger Foot Boys
good dog
Identity Crisis
Muhammad Ali and Me
New Nigerians

Voting has now closed. The winner will be announced at the Alfred Fagon Awards on 8th December, The Dorfman Theatre, National Theatre.