“The Alfred Fagon Award is unique."
Michael Abbensetts, winner 2004
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation
Audience Award 2015

Audience Award 2015

2015 winners

Liberian Girl by Diana Nneka Atuona (this play won Best New Play of the Year in 2013);  the revival of Play Mas by Mustapha Matura (who won the Alfred Fagon Award for Outstanding Contribution to Writing last year); and Matilda Ibini’s Muscovado.
(photo Richard H. Smith)
Matilda Ibini collects her award from actor Kobna Holdbrook-Smith on stage at Dorfman Theatre.

Later we caught up with Mustapha Matura who was unable to make it on the day.  He receives his award from trustee Sheelagh Killeen-Rees.
The top three plays won with 487 votes (58.84% of the total) with the remaining plays sharing 340 votes (41.18% of the total).

The Alfred Fagon Audience Award recognizes and celebrates the depth of talented Black British playwrights of Caribbean and African descent writing in Britain today.

More Writers – More Recognition

In the inaugural year (2015) the top three plays voted for by the public in an online poll won the award.

Thanks to the Writers Guild of Britain (WGGB), UK Theatre and the National Theatre Black Plays Archive (BPA) who helped us to publicize the Award.

WGGB_logo_2015  UKTheatre archive-site-logo


Amsterdam by Chanje Kunda
Boi Boi is Dead by Zodwa Nyoni
East End Boys, West End Girls by Ade Solanke
Hang by Debbie tucker Green
How Nigeria Became: A Story and A Spear the Didn’t Work by Gblahan Obisesan
Liberian Girl by Diana Nneka Atuona
Muscovado by Matilda Ibini
Pandora’s Box by Ade Solanke
Play Mas by Mustapha Matura
The Honey Man by Tyrone Huggins
Upper Cut by Juliet Gilkes Romero