Dawn Walton presenting the Alfred Fagon Award to Winsome Pinnock. Photo: Richard H. Smith

The annual Awards took place at The Dorfman, National Theatre.

Founder and Artistic Director of Eclipse, Dawn Walton, presented the award and cheque for £6,000 to Winsome Pinnock, winner of Best New Play of the Year for Rockets and Blue Lights at this year’s Alfred Fagon Award supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation.

“A major theme of Rockets and Blue Lights is the legacy of history and the ongoing impact of this legacy on the descendants of Africans who were enslaved.  Another theme of the play is the significance, necessity and power of love in the face of such a history and the challenge of achieving that.  I am also interested in the representation of painful subjects – what we choose to represent and what we deny.” Winsome Pinnock.

Rex Obano and Beverly Andrews. Photo: Richard H. Smith

The recipient of this year’s Roland Rees Bursary, named in honour of the co-founder of the Alfred Fagon Award and leading theatre director from the 1970s and 1980s, is writer Rex Obano. Rex was presented with a cheque of £3,000 by last year’s recipient Beverly Andrews. The bursary is awarded annually and enables writers to devote more time to their writing.

Photo: Richard H. Smith

The reading was directed by Nicole Charles, finalist for the Genesis Future Director Award 2018 at the Young Vic. The cast included: Geoff Aymer, Seraphina Beh, Denise Black, Dona Croll, Estella Daniels, Ricky Fearon, Shalisha James-Davis, Sarah Niles, Sophie Russell, Ciaran Owens, David Sibley, Steve Toussaint.