“It was a great honour to be the first winner of the Award."
Roy Williams, winner 1997 and 2010
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation

Outstanding Contribution to Writing

Veteran playwright Mustapha Matura is the first recipient of the first Alfred Fagon Award for Outstanding Contribution to Writing.  This new award was introduced by the trustees to celebrate the 18th anniversary of the Alfred Fagon Award.

Longtime friend, colleague and director Nicholas Kent was due to present the award to Mustapha but he was unable to attend due to work commitments in Australia so he filmed a heartfelt tribute, praising Mustapha for being a pioneer of Black British playwriting since the 1960s.

Mustapha was presented with his award by Yvonne Brewster OBE.

The Stage


Photo credit: Richard H Smith