For the third time in its history the Award for Best New Play of the Year is won by two plays Sucker Punch by Roy Williams and SW11 by Rachel De-lahay.

Roy Williams

Roy is featured in the National Theatre Black Plays Archive. His 2014 play, Kingston 8, played at Theatre Royal Stratford East.

Not Black & White, Bloomsbury

Plays Drama Online

News in 2010 The Guardian

Rachel De-lahay

Rachel’s second play Routes opened Vicky Featherstone’s first season at the Royal Court in September and went on to win her The Evening Standard Award for most promising playwright. It followed her first play, The Westbridge (previously titled SW11), which was also produced at the Royal Court Theatre and won the Writers Guild Award for best play as well as coming joint first for the Alfred Fagon Award.  Rachel is currently developing her first feature with Film Four and Independent Films and was named screen star of tomorrow by Screen Daily. She also won the Pearson Award to write for Birmingham Rep, where her next play Circles will open in May before coming to the Tricycle Theatre this June.

The Independent
The Standard

Evening Standard Award for Most Promising Playwright 2013
Writers Guild Award for Best Play 2013
Screen Star of Tomorrow 2013
Alfred Fagon Award 2010

Special Commendation
Moonheaven by Ros Martin.  Ros won £2,000.  Moonhaven was featured in Bristol’s local Evening Post and the play received a workshop and reading at the National Theatre Studio and was longlisted for the Bruntwood  Prize.

The Special Commendation Award was supported by Jamaican National Building Society.