Liberian Girl by Diana Nneka Atuona won the 2013 Alfred Fagon Award for the Best New Play of the Year.

Diana received her award, a prize cheque of £5,000, from Professor Gus John in front of a packed audience on 29 November at the Tricycle Theatre.

After the ceremony a reading of Liberian Girl directed by Michael Buffong was presented to the audience featuring actors Anniwaa Buachie, Tanya Fear, T’Nia Miller, Tobi Bakare, Fiston Barek and Ery Nzaramba.

The Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year was established in 1996 in memory of the late Jamaican playwright and actor, Alfred Fagon.

The £5,000 prize is awarded to the writer who has, in the opinion of the judges, written the best stage play of the year. New as well as established writers are encouraged to enter.


  • Fractures by OLADIPO AGBOLUAJE
  • Liberian Girl by DIANA N. ATUONA (winner)
  • The Epic Adventure of Nhamo The Manyika Warrior and His Sexy Wife Chipo by DENTON CHIKURA
  • The Glory Road by MARTIN EDWARDS
  • Bounty by DANNY JAMES
  • The Long Poem by CHINO ODIMBA

Liberian Girl at the Royal Court
Diana is interviewed by The Observer
Powerfully disturbing and immersive, The Independent
Innocence Lost, London Evening Standard
The human capacity for hope, The Telegraph
Atuona’s play is quite something, What’s on Stage
Expect an intense viewing experience, Culture Whisper
A remarkably assured, innovative debut, The Arts Desk
Woman’s Hour interview

In 2016 Juliet Gilkes Romero was in conversation with Diana at Bush Theatre.

Feedback from the event.

Latest News

Share this page