Picture of trophy

Presenters for the Alfred Fagon Award for New Play of the Year

2021      Baroness Floella Benjamin DBE
2020      Mimi Findlay
2019      Roy Alexander Weise MBE
2018      Dawn Walton OBE
2017      Amma Asante MBE
2016      Michael Buffong
2015      Rufus Norris
2014      The Reverend Rose Hudson-Wilkin MBE, QHC
2013      Professor Gus John
2012      Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon (Doreen Lawrence)
2011      Mona Hammond OBE
2010     Winsome Pinnock FRSL
2009     Diana Athill OBE
2008     Don Warrington MBE
2007     Yvonne Brewster OBE
2006     Diane Abbott MP
2005     Professor Stuart Hall FBA
2004     Roy Williams OBE FRSL
2003    Baroness Valerie Amos
2002    Hugh Quarshie
2001    Clive Rowe MBE
2000    Bonnie Greer OBE
1999     Lord Smith of Finsbury (Rt Hon Chris Smith MP)
1998     Sir Trevor MacDonald OBE
1997     Mustapha Mutura

In 2014 Yvonne Brewster OBE presented the inaugural Outstanding Contribution to Writing Award to Mustapha Matura.

The Audience Award ran for three years and was presented by

2017       Susan Wokoma
2016       Martina Laird
2015       Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

The Roland Rees Bursary has been presented by

2021       Kalungi Ssebandeke
2020       No presenter due to Covid
2019       Rex Obano
2018       Beverley Andrews
2017       Mark Norfolk
2016       David Aukin
2015       Yvonne Brewster

About us

Alfred Fagon on the web

Share this page