“It was a great honour to be the first winner of the Award."
Roy Williams, winner 1997 and 2010
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation
2015 Awards

2015 Awards

Best New Play of the Year 2015

Rufus Norris, Artistic Director of the Royal National Theatre presented the award and cheque for £6,000 to Theresa Ikoko, winner of this year’s Best New Play of the Year at this year’s Alfred Fagon Award supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation.

Rufus Norris presents the Alfred Fagon Award for best new play to Theresa Ikoko for her play ‘Girls’ photo credit Richard Hubert Smith

Theresa’s play Girls focuses on the relationship between a group of childhood friends kidnapped in Africa by Boko Haram.

Theresa Ikoko is part of the Talawa Writer’s Programme in partnership with Bush Theatre and Soho Theatre supported by The Paul Hamlyn Foundation.  Her writing credits include:

Visiting Hours, New Black Voices Showcase, Belgrade Theatre, November 2014

Belgrade Unplugged, Belgrade Theatre, July 2014

Scratch That Hackney, Hackney Attic, October 2013

Normal, (Lunchtime Readings, High Tide Theatre, November 2014; Reading, Talawa Firsts, Talawa

Theatre, June 2014)

The Race Card, Reading, Tricycle Young Writers, Tricycle Theatre, August 2013

In the first year since winning the award Theresa has won a commission with Soho (Soho Six), won channel 4 playwrights award (an attachment with Hightide) attended the BBC’s TV writers Festival read her blog here  and has two TV options with Bandit & Keshet.

Girls was included in the 20th anniversary British Council Edinburgh Showcase in 2017.

Other Awards presented on the day include the top three winners of the inaugural Audience Award for plays staged between September 2014 and August 2015.  The winning plays are: Liberian Girl by Diana Nneka Atuona (this play won Best New Play of the Year in 2013);  the revival of Play Mas by Mustapha Matura (who won the Alfred Fagon Award for Outstanding Contribution to Writing last year); and Matilda Ibini’s Muscovado

Actor, Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, recently on stage at the Barbican as Laertes in Hamlet and also a co-founder of Act for Change announced the winners and presented the award to Matilda Ibini. Unfortunately Mustapha Matura and Diana Nneka Atuona were unable to attend the ceremony so the organisers will present the award to them at a later date.

Matilda receives her Award from actor Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

Also presented at the Awards was the first Roland Rees Bursary, named in honour of the co-founder of the Alfred Fagon Award and leading theatre director from the 1970s and 1980s who died in September.


Yvonne Brewster OBE co-founder of the Alfred Fagon Award presented the bursary cheque of £3,000 to writer Mark Norfolk.

Photo credit: Richard Hubert Smith


David Judge                          Skipping Rope

Deidan Williams                 Manhattan Out to Sea

Eva Edo                                 Looked After Children

Theresa Ikoko                     Girls

Tolula Dada                         Carrot or Stick


Andrew Rajan                     Afghanistan

Beverley Andrews              Circles

Chantal Campbell               Playing Tom

David Judge                          Skipping Rope

Deidan Williams                 Manhattan Out to Sea

Dianna Hunt                        Mona’s Room

Edson Burton                       Icarus in Love

Eva Edo                                 Looked After Children

Matilda Ibini                        Elector8

Max Kolaru                          Not Cricket

May Sumbanyambe           After Independence

Rayna Campbell                  Manchester Divided

Rex Obano                            The Moors of England

Roy Williams                       The Fear

Simon Michael Brett          White House

Theresa Ikoko                     Girls

Tolula Dada                         Carrot or Stick

Trevor Williams                 Killing Time

Yasmin Joseph                    Pinch

The shortlist will be announced in early November.

The Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year is supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation

Entry Criteria for 2016

The Award is open to any playwright of Caribbean or African descent, resident in the UK, for the best, original new stage play in English.

Plays must be full length.

The play does not need to have been produced.  However, if it has, only plays produced since August 2015 will be considered.

Each submitted play must be accompanied by a CV, confirming the writer’s Caribbean and/or African heritage and residency in the UK along with a brief synopsis of the play. (The CV must also include an email address and a contact telephone number).

Each entrant can submit only one play. A play may also be nominated by a third party with the writer’s consent (e.g. via an agent)

Television, radio plays and film scripts will not be considered.

New as well as established writers are encouraged to enter.

Two hard copies of your script should be sent to: Pauline Walker, The Alfred Fagon Award, c/o Talawa Theatre Company, 53-55 East Road, London, N1 6AH.

An electronic copy of the play should also be sent by email to info@alfredfagonaward.co.uk.

Deadline for all entries: Midday, Monday, 1 August 2016.

Judging and Prize

The Award is given to the best new play judged by the Selection Committee.

The winning writer wins £6,000.

All applicants will be notified by email of their entry’s safe arrival. No correspondence will be entered into between the Selection Committee and applicants.

Only shortlisted writers will be contacted in early November 2016.

The writer of the winning play will be announced at The Alfred Fagon Award ceremony in late November 2016.

The Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year is supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation