“The Alfred Fagon Award is unique."
Michael Abbensetts, winner 2004
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation
Alfred Fagon AWARD

The Alfred Fagon Award is a not-for-profit organisation.

Alfred Fagon lived in Clarendon Jamaica, Nottingham, Bristol and London. He was a boxing champion, a welder, an actor, poet, and playwright. After his untimely death in 1986 his friends held a memorial evening at Tricycle Theatre to commemorate his life and work. The donations collected at the memorial formed the basis of the Alfred Fagon Award to recognise Black British playwrights from the Caribbean. The first award was supported by Arts Council England and The Peggy Ramsay Foundation was presented to Roy Williams . The Peggy Ramsay Foundation continues to support the Award and the prize this year for the winning writer is £6,000.

A bust of Alfred created by David G Mutasa was erected in St Paul’s, Bristol. Bristol keeps his name alive; in September 2013 the Bristol Old Vic Studio dedicated an evening to him where a full rehearsed reading of his play 11 Josephine House was performed. On 26th October 2006 we celebrated the ten year anniversary of the Award at The Royal Court Theatre in London. A reading of Alfred’s play 11 Josephine House preceded the Award ceremony. Lorna French was presented with the prize for her winning play Safe House by Diane Abbott MP.

Roland Rees chaired the Award from 1997 – 2009. In 2006 the founding patrons decided to appoint a new chair on three-year tenure and to extend the reach of the Award by also recognising Black British African playwrights. The Awards are now open to Black British playwrights of Caribbean or African descent resident in the UK.

From 2010-2012 playwright Winsome Pinnock chaired the selection committee for Best New Play of the Year. Winsome is featured in the National Theatre Black Plays Archive. She currently teaches creative writing at Kingston University.

To mark the 18th anniversary of the Award (2014) we celebrated with:


We recognize a writer who has made an impact on the British theatre industry. The first annual award was  presented in November 2014 to Mustapha Matura.


More writers, more recognition. An online vote for the top three favourite plays produced during September 2014 and August 2015. The first annual awards will be presented in November 2015.


The Alfred Fagon Series raises funds to support The Alfred Fagon Awards.


An annual photo-shoot with past winning writers, established and emerging playwrights and the great and the good of the Black British theatre industry.


In 2015 we became a company limited by guarantee, registered company no. 9649170.

Directors: Yvonne Brewster OBE, Sheelagh Killeen, James Hogan FRCA.

The Alfred Fagon Award promotes, maintains, improves and advances education and the encouragement of the arts in particular by the recognition and promotion of plays by British writers of Caribbean and African descent in the art of drama.