“It was a great honour to be the first winner of the Award."
Roy Williams, winner 1997 and 2010
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation
The Chair


Current chair of the selection committee (2016-2018) is Brian Walters.

From May 2010 to October 2015 Brian was Deputy Literary Manager at the National Theatre, where his job involved research and reading revival plays for possible production, script editing with writers to develop their plays and arranging script workshops and readings.

While at the National Theatre Brian worked with many writers including Michaela Coel, Rachel Delahay and Oladipo Agboluaje.  He also worked with a number of directors including Ola Ince, Natalie Abrahami and Elayce Ismail.  Brian has also worked as dramaturge for various theatre companies including Ice&Fire and The Wardrobe Ensemble.

He’s worked in the literary departments for Paines Plough, Bush Theatre, Hampstead Theatre, and Nabokov Theatre Company, and worked at the Tricycle Theatre.

Brian was co-writer on the devised theatre play World Factory, a play looking at the relationship between clothing brands in England and garment factories in China, which involved research trips to Shenzhen in China and Berlin. World Factory played at the Young Vic theatre in May 2015.

Brian has completed the Developing Drama course at the National Film & Television School.

Brian currently works with the BBC Writersroom and has worked as a script reader for Channel 4’s Scriptwriting course.  Previous to his theatre career Brian worked at the British Film Institute in the Programming Unit which programmed for regional cinemas.

Brian has been on the selection committee for the Alfred Fagon Award since 2010.

The Awards have been held at Royal Court Theatre (1997–2007), National Theatre (2008-2012; 2014-2015), Tricycle Theatre (2013)  The Awards returned to the National Theatre in 2014.

Winning writers have received their Award for Best New Play of the Year from a sterling list of presenters which includes playwrights Mustapha Matura and Roy Williams, broadcaster Sir Trevor McDonald OBE, politicians: Lord Smith of Finsbury, Baroness Valerie Amos and politician and broadcaster Diane Abbot MP, writer and broadcaster Bonnie Greer, actors Clive Rowe and Hugh Quarshie, academic and broadcaster Professor Stuart Hall, campaigner for justice Baroness Doreen Lawrence, educationalist Professor Gus JohnThe Reverend Rose Hudson-Wilkin, Speaker’s Chaplain, House of Commons and Priest Vicar at Westminster Abbey, Chaplain to the Queen and Rufus Norris, Artistic Director, National Theatre.

For many years the Alfred Fagon Award received administrative support from Britain’s foremost black-led theatre company Talawa Theatre Company.

In 2013 administrative support was provided by Tiata Fahodzi.

Administration and Creative Production by PDW Productions (2014-2017).


2017 Selection Committee Members

Brian Walters (Chair)
Natasha Bonnelame
Mimi Findlay
Dr. Judith Malone-Fagon
Joan Ann-Maynard
Olusola Oyeleye
Matthew Xia