“It was a great honour to be the first winner of the Award."
Roy Williams, winner 1997 and 2010
Supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation
2017 Awards

2017 Awards


Archie Maddocks             Nine Nights

David Judge                      SparkPlug

Inua Ellams                      Barber Shop Chronicles

Melanie Pennant             A Black Fella Walks into a Bar

Mufaro Makubika           Shebeen


Adura Onashile           Expensive S***

Archie Maddocks        Nine Nights

David Judge                 SparkPlug

Gabriel Gbadamosi    Stop & Search

Inua Ellams                 Barber Shop Chronicles

Max Kolaru                  24 Grenfell Storey’s

Melanie Pennant        A Black Fella Walks into a Bar

Mufaro Makubika      Shebeen

Tife Kusoro                  We Have Sinned

Submissions for Best New Play of the Year opened on 3rd April 2017

Award Eligibility and Criteria


The Award is open to any playwright of Caribbean or African descent, resident in the UK, for the best original, new stage play in English.

Plays must be full length and presented as double-lined spaced, single-sided, in Times New roman, font 12pt and be a minimum of 40 pages.

Television, radio plays and film scripts will not be considered.

The play does not need to have been produced.  However, if it has, only plays produced since August 2016 will be considered.

Each submitted play must be accompanied by a CV, confirming the writer’s Caribbean and/or African heritage and residency in the UK along with a brief synopsis of the play. (CV must also include your email address and a contact telephone number).

Each entrant can submit only one play. A play may also be nominated by a third party with the writer’s consent (e.g. via an agent)

New as well as established writers are encouraged to enter.

Two hard copies of your script should be sent to: Pauline Walker, The Alfred Fagon Award, c/o Talawa Theatre Company, 53-55 East Road, London, N1 6AH.

An electronic copy of the play should also be sent by email to info@alfredfagonaward.co.uk.

Deadline for all entries: 5pm, Friday, 28th July 2017.

Judging and Prize

The Award is given to the best new play judged by the Selection Committee.

The winning writer wins £6,000.

Selection Committee
Brian Walters (Chair)
Natasha Bonnelame
Mimi Findlay
Dr. Judith Malone-Fagon
Joan Ann-Maynard
Olusola Oyeleye
Matthew Xia

All applicants will be notified by email of their entry’s safe arrival. No correspondence will be entered into between the Selection Committee and applicants.

Only shortlisted writers will be contacted in early November 2017.

The writer of the winning play will be announced at The Alfred Fagon Award ceremony in late November 2017.

The Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year is supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation